You are here: Home About SAMPAA Awards Recipients


The Neil Munro Award is granted each year to an exceptional student in their second year of the Masters of Environmental Studies at Dalhousie University's School for Resource and Environmental Studies. 

The winner of the 2009 Neil Munro Parks and Protected Areas Award is:  Kristina Benoit.

Kristina Benoit is presently enrolled in the Master of Environmental Studies program with the School for Resource and Environmental Studies at Dalhousie University.  She is in the process of finishing baseline research for the development of a monitoring protocol and management plan for the invasive green crab (Carcinus maenas) population located at the Kejimkujik Seaside (Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada) to fulfill the research component of the degree.  Throughout her studies at Dalhousie University she has also taken time to pursue other activities such as teaching assistant positions and volunteering for several Dalhousie societies and local not-for-profit organizations. She would like to thank supporters of the Neil Munro Parks and Protected Areas Award as it has helped her to pursue the MES degree, developing knowledge and skills for future endeavours.

Past recipients:

(2008) John Glynn-Morris
(2007) Aime Pelletier
(2006) Craig Smith
(2005) Carolyn Hedley




Document Actions


sampaa 6 cd art

SAMPAA 6 Conference Proceedings Here Now


Contact Us

Biology Department
Acadia University
Wolfville, Nova Scotia